top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Miller

Holy Crap, I'm going abroad!

I have been telling people for weeks that I will be studying abroad in September. I purchased my plane tickets months ago. I have been filling out so much paperwork all year just to do this.


So why did it take until now for me to really understand what I am actually doing?


I am just gonna blame it on my sheer lack of time between my three jobs, my 16 credits, my two clubs and immense amount of homework. Nevertheless, it has set in and you could say I am panicking just a little.


Most of the panic isn't about being gone but rather about the actual mechanics of it, like money, and packing, and having all the things I need to not be stressing hard core while I am supposed to be living it up. Basically, I want everything to be set and figured out so that nothing goes wrong based off sheer lack of planning.


Some of the other stuff - like not knowing anyone - has set in. I am mainly questioning who I am gonna spend my birthday with, but I am sure I will make friends (right?). Everyone loves an excuse to celebrate, so people will want to join me on my birthday. I hope. Just silly fears that whisper to me while I work.


Mainly I am sad I won't have either of my singing groups with me, after all they can't fit in my suitcase. I won't be in any singing group for 6 whole months (including summer) and that is such a huge part of my life that I won't be contributing the same amount of time too. I will be able to get right back to it no problem when I am back, but somehow that isn't very comforting.


Every person involved in my study abroad planning has told me that money and friendship fears are normal to the experience, but it seems too obvious to be true. Even if I am working through those fears.


I know I will be way better at this then I think I am.



Switching away from spooky thoughts, I do have some goals for this trip:

1. Learn as much from my history classes as possible

2. Go to 3 new museums

3. Get a tattoo

4. Go to campus events as much as possible/Get the university experience

5. Find some sort of music outlet to be involved in


I look forward to this whole experience, good and bad, difficult and easy, and I plan on sharing most of that on here. I hope whoever is reading will enjoy that kind of posting.




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page