top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Miller

My First Week at Stirling!




Hello!

Here is a run down of my first week at University of Stirling.



Saturday September 7th:


This was the day I landed in Glasgow and got into my flat and met my flatmates for the first time. I promptly through all my stuff into my room and raced off to have dinner with my study abroad company mates. This was warmly welcomed as I was starving for the long day of travel. We went to a pub in town and I had bangers and mash.


Upon arriving back at my flat I cried until I fell asleep. I was mentally and physically drained and all I wanted was a hug and upon realizing that it was probably the only thing I couldn't have, I was left to settle into the feeling that I was alone for a while.


Sunday September 8th:

Sunday was spent getting all the stuff I needed to live and feel at home. My flat mates and I went on our first bus adventure to the mall in town so that we could go to Primark, Pound Land and Tesco.


Primark Haul:

  • Duvet cover that isn't itchy

  • Sticky Tape to hang up photos

  • Throw blanket for extra warmth

  • Desk Calendar

  • Two photo frames

  • Rug

Pound Land Haul:

  • Dish for my toothbrush to lay on

  • Shampoo and Conditioner

  • Razors

  • Dry Shampoo

  • Two mugs

  • Kleenex

Tesco:

We then packed all of this back onto the bus and arrived at the university bus stop a crisp twenty minutes away and had to lug it all back. It was hard. Worth it, but half way through I got to wondering how much I was really carrying in all my little reusable totes.


I brought a hand scale with me so I didn't have to wonder long.

Forty Three pounds. Forty Three.


Lastly, I ordered some stuffies on Jelly Cat's website ( A lovely UK Brand with the softest stuffed animals ever) because I didn't pack one of my own from home and was sorely regretting it.


Monday September 9th:


This day was my first day of campus exploring. There were a ton of information tables and people roaming around and there was a big tent with lots of stuff to look at, resources and free items. I took the time to explore the campus center and try to commit to memory the layout. This was also where I got my Uni hoodie to proudly wear.


Among this hullabaloo there was a booth selling posters. Looking to make my room feel less cave-like, I was all in. I found three prints of vintage Disney movie posters, the ever classic Rosie (good reminder for myself too) and some of the most infamous French vintage advertisement art.



After getting these posters and all the stuff from the day before, I took some time to set up my room.


In addition to the university shop and bookstore, there is a small grocery store, a pharmacy shop and a re-sell store from past students in the campus center. I purchased a couple organizers and some kitchen essentials from the re-use place.


The sort of thrift store was quite impressive to me and goes along perfectly with the school's keen attention to environmental health on campus.


It was after this that I had a baked potato covered in baked beans with tomato sauce (of course) and purchased a ticket to an Ella Fitzgerald Documentary and band performance that happens in October during the Central Scotland Documentary Festival. I am thrilled to get to see this as she has been pivotal in the development of my music side.


Finally, I participated in a traditional Ceilidh. It was crowded and sweaty and so much fun. One particular dance was great fun and I have spent many a minute trying to find it on YouTube, but to no avail. It would help if I knew what it was called and not just the steps. Nevertheless, a good time was had and my flat mates and I ordered Domino's (Yes, Domino's) as a night cap.


Then I spent some time missing my family and friends before falling asleep.


Tuesday September 10th:


This day I decided to get up early, put some effort into my appearance and go to Stirling Castle. It was nice to let myself be a tourist, and wander around by myself and the castle was really quite amazing.

It was interesting to compare it to the visit I had to Edinburgh Castle my first time to Scotland as they are very different in style. Since Edinburgh is still in military use, there is a much more fortress feeling to it. Stirling Castle is much more of a palace and you can see it and read about it in the history. This does not however mean it is void of military engagement. Here are some pictures from my lovely walk up to the castle, and the castle itself.




Once I got back to my flat I was so excited to receive my stuffed animals!



They immediately helped and I don't care what age you are, a stuffed Dragon and Highland cow will always be a good choice.


It was after this that I decided to venture onto the online class portals and try to decipher my class handouts. After an hour of reading, and a getting a vague idea of what is required of me, I stopped to let my little brain rest.


Well, I stopped to watch the introductory Documentary Episodes that were assigned as preliminary research for my history classes. The classic Neil Oliver BBC Scotland series about the making of Scotland is still good and very pleasant homework indeed.


Perhaps homework isn't a break to everyone, but it did the trick for me.


Lastly, I bought textbooks before making dinner and going to bed.


Wednesday September 11th:


I started my day by exploring the Library of which is very beautiful and has loads of lush seating. I may end up napping instead of studying there but both are welcome to an extent. After the library I visited the vintage fair happening on campus and looked at some very colorful coats.


On this day the campus center had been turned into a clubs fair where I picked a club to join. I am very excited to participate in Film club where on Tuesday evenings we watch a movie and then head to the pub to discuss it. Sounds pretty perfect to me. While still in the campus center I went to find the McRobert's Art Center where there is a play house, film house and main stage that shows a variety of mediums across the year. While exploring it I purchased a ticket for Christine Bovill a 1920s "Sultry" performer.


Upon arriving back at my flat I did some more Neil Oliver watching and ordered more pants because I severely underestimated that element of my packing somehow.


Thursday September 12th:


Thursday was the first day I had class orientations and I was excited to get a feel on my professors and what I would be studying. These meetings were short and just providing an overview, but I felt better after attending them.


After classes I took a bus into town to set up my tattoo appointments for the ink I want done while I am here.


This day was probably the most relaxed yet.


Friday September 13th:


I had my final class orientation on this day and after class went back to the mall with two of my flatmates to get some clothing pieces we discovered we needed.


The mall always seems to suck the day away whenever we go so the rest of the day slipped by us.


Additionally, my dad bought me a ticket to see Ariana Grande in Glasgow on Tuesday the 17th, so I booked my train tickets and my hostel for that and then tried to sleep over the excitement.


Saturday September 14th:


This was the day I tried to organize myself. I went back to the library and printed all the handouts I had read on Tuesday and highlighted important bits, picked out topics for papers and copied assignment dates into my planner. This made me feel immensely better about my class work, even though I have two papers due by noon on my birthday.


The rest of the day and night was spent at the International Welcome and Wah Hae Festival. The international welcome was a couple of speakers for the school talking to the international students while they gave us pounds of o'dourves and offered us free alcohol.


They then sent us on our merry way to the festival about a mile down the road where we celebrated the 150th anniversary of the Wallace Tower. There was a concert for the Red Hot Chili Pipers who were fantastic followed by fireworks above the tower while the Braveheart theme played behind it. It was a lovely time and I got to try fried Haggis which is not that bad, I don't know why everyone is complaining.




Sunday September 15th:


Today was spent in Edinburgh with my travel company mates and it was so nice to go back to where I had spent most of my time the first time I came here. For the first time I felt like I knew where I was, I could move around with confidence and I even lead some of my mates around to monuments.

It was also really fun to go back to places I had been but do something else there that I had missed out on, for instance, seeing Tom Riddle's Grave and actually having a drink in the Elephant House cafe.



I also got to recreate done of my favorite pictures from that trip!


Overall it was nice to feel comfortable. It was one of the first times so far that has happened.

Here are some more pictures I took in Edinburgh.





In short, I am walking about 7 or 8 miles a day, I have a good grip on the bus system, and even though I cry myself to sleep every night I am still having fun and making an experience for myself.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page