top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Miller

Packing Part Two: Everything Else

Alright, now that we have gotten the clothing out of the way, I can cover everything else I am bringing with me to Scotland.


I have done them in groups with common themes so to easily move through them all.


Hobbies/Activities:

Since some of my hobbies are too big to bring with me (instruments I'm looking at you), I had to pick some of my easier to pack hobbies. Starting from the left: I have my journal and bag full of markers, travel watercolor pallet with water pen brush, watercolor notebook, Instant camera with one pack regular and one pack monochrome film and finally a phone lens kit for taking more creative pictures on my mobile.


Some blogs and people I heard from didn't recommend bringing hobbies with me since I would have so much school work and socializing to do that there wouldn't be time for stuff like that. However, I know that I need a creative outlet and since I can't bring my music groups with me, I find comfort in having these with me.


Decorations:

One amazing thing about Stirling University is that they provide bedding for you, but while that makes packing easier, it is obviously going to be very plain so I have packed some stuff to bring some personality into the room. Besides, it will help me feel more at home in a strange place.


My boyfriend painted the Dinosaur Astronaut seen top left and it is too cute not to bring. Additionally, I have film and print photos of my friends and family as well as my pup to sticky tack around the room. Finally, I have packed a fuzzy green blanket that matches my pillowcase from home to give the bed a little face lift.


Toiletries:

This is the biggest section of this post and the most obvious so I am just going to make a list that includes the brand.

  • Flat Iron by Helen of Troy

  • Goodie Hair ties

  • Biotin Pills by Nature's Goods

  • Tooth Brush kit courtesy of my Nene

  • Paul Mitchell Lavender Mint Moisturizing Shampoo

  • Bumble and Bumble Sea Salt Texturing Spray

  • Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cleaner

  • Mario Badescu Rose Facial Spray

  • Sure Deodorant

  • Playtex Pocket Tampons (enough for the whole trip)

  • Wet and Wild Primer

  • Wet and Wild Black Liquid Eyeliner

  • Tweezers

  • Kiehl's Ultra Face Cream

  • Kiehl's Face Masks (Firming, Purifying and Moisturizing)

  • Eyelash Curler

  • Bang Bang Mascara by Benefit in Black

  • An ancient Bobbi Brown palette that I love to much to let go (browns and nudes)

  • Eco-tools Duo Eye shadow Brushes

  • Physicians Formula Hydrating Foundation

  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Eyebrow pencil in Chocolate

  • A five pack of layer-able roller perfumes by Clean


Electronics:

Left to right: My sticker collection that is housed on my laptop accompanied by it's charger, an adapter, both plug in and Bluetooth headphones, a charging brick that holds five full charges, my phone charger and a digital hand scale to weigh my luggage.


Essentials for a student, but also just modern life.


School Supplies:

I don't use a lot for school, and most people would ave told me to just by them when I get there, but I have some preferences for school supplies. For instance, I am left handed which makes finding pens that don't smear really hard so I am bringing some of my favorites. Additionally, I like soft back moleskin style notebooks for notes so I found this set of four on Amazon that were a smaller size to take with me; I think they are the perfect size.


My planner because without it I don't have a brain. This notebook of index cards with three dividers that will make bringing them home with me easier was a stellar find at the dollar store and finally, a second ID holder that I got at my home university for my Scotland ID.

Simple and functional but also easy to bring home which is important for me.


Misc.

This collection of items are flight supplies?


Things that will make my life easier: Pain Medicine because I get headaches on long flights, cash in Pounds for when I arrive, Glasses wipe for when I inevitably lose my purse one, Passport (duh), and hydro-flask.


For my own desire I have this blue notebook where I have been making all my to-do lists and drafts all summer leading up to leaving that will serve the same purpose in Scotland until I am home. This houses my sketches for various winter term schedules back home as well as info for my Scotland classes but it also made a great safe place to keep all my visa info.


All of this fits into one Carry on Suitcase and a medium sized backpack that will also function as my school bag. There is also plenty of room for souvenirs!


I hope this was helpful or at least interesting. My next post will be from the airport!

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page