top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Miller

Week Two

This week was much more subdue. I think it is starting to feel normal, to an extent. There is now a routine to follow and many hours of reading to do.


I have been sick since Friday, but I am trying my best to make it a short term illness. I got my medicine and soup. Been watching movies between homework assignments so I don't overwork myself. But the true blessing is it finally started raining today! The whole of the first two weeks I was here it didn't rain at all and was 70 degrees, much to my disappointment. I am so excited to be able to wear my sweaters and my Paddington coat now.


I did laundry for the first time today among everyone else in Alexander Court. I should have guessed though, it is Sunday and everyone knows that Sunday is laundry day. Especially college students.


The biggest thing I did this week was a flatmate bonding excursion where we walked to the Wallace Monument. It was loads of fun and it was fabulous bonding time. We had an impromptu photo shoot of which I will upload about later, and the view was amazing. The slideshow below shows some of my photos.



Within the Monument there are three exhibits, one on each level on your way up to the top. One is a beautifully done animation about the story of Wallace and the history of the Battle of Stirling Bridge. The next is a collection of busts that are important people of Scotland. There were at least 16 busts, and I was glad to see not only men. In fact, there was a lovely quote on display from Chrystal Macmillan, who campaigned for women's rights specifically through the advancement of education for women.


"Women want the power to make the world more comfortable for girls and women, without doing any harm to the boys and men."


I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the monument.


Additionally, I discovered the best breakfast ever. A food cart on campus serves Hot Rolls from 8am to 10am and they are the best thing ever and only a couple bucks. A hot roll is just a warm dinner roll stuffed with breakfast meat of your choice.


I recommend the bacon because the salt and fat are amazing on the roll. You don't even need anything else on it. You know i'm gonna try to eat as many of those as I can.


While more relaxed, and more sick than the last week, there is something to be said about having a routine in a foreign country; it makes it feel more like a home.








39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page